Melissa Marlette & Jen Vestuto

Grateful

Tomorrow is a huge day for us. In less than 24 hours, we will have an entire teaser for our script in the can, which will be a huge and amazing step in this journey. This will be the first time that someone will be directing, acting and shooting words that I wrote. As a writer, that’s a dream come true. It’s why I do what I do. This film means so much to me and I can’t wait to see it come to life.  Naturally, filmmaking is a collaborative process. Writing with someone else can be really hard, but I am beyond lucky enough to have an incredible writing partner who let me run with her idea. Together, we made this script what it is and we love it like a child. Besides each other, we’re counting on a lot of other people to make this happen tomorrow. We were lucky enough to find 5 actors that love the script, a DP that has a great vision and our jack of all trades producer who travelled all the way from NY, who are all working for free tomorrow. They’re dedicating their entire day to help us make this dream a reality, and for that, I am so so so grateful.

Image

This really exciting day is coming off the wake of a really tough week. Seeing the destruction Sandy had on my hometown of Lindenhurst and the city I love the most, Manhattan, was one of the most heartbreaking things I’ve ever seen. Although I’m grateful that my family and friends are safe, it kills me to not be there for them and to help in the recovery process. Although I’m living in LA, I still consider myself a New Yorker at heart and I owe a lot of my creativity and growth to my time living there. The life and energy of Manhattan is what made me want to be a writer and tell stories for a living. Although physically it might not be the same, I know that if any city could pull through this and come out better in the end, it’s NYC. I send so much love and positive thoughts back east and I hope we make you guys proud tomorrow.

Image

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

