Melissa Marlette & Jen Vestuto

Thanks Joss

Last night, Melissa and I had our typical Lazy Sunday movie night and the chosen flick was “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”. It was a cheap find at Best Buy, I hadn’t seen it before and a cheesy 90s vampire flick starring Luke Perry with a soul patch, an angsty Hilary Swank and Pee Wee Herman as a vampire sounded like a perfect way to kick off October.

Believe it or not, there was a poignant theme in this cinematic masterpiece, which also has been a reoccurring theme in my life as of late. During a scene surrounded by her artificial friends, Buffy has a realization that the things that she used to care about and thought were the most important things just weren’t important at all. Right before her mentor dies, he tells her to start doing things her way and not to worry about everyone else and their rules. She then goes to realize that what she’s meant to do is stake Vampires in the heart. Cool shit.

ImageNow, my fate might not necessarily be as cool as staking vampires, but I still think it’s pretty cool.. Making movies is what I was meant to do. It’s what I love doing and it’s the one thing that I will give 110% of my energy and free time to do. Every day gives me the opportunity to be better as a writer, to learn from those smarter around me and to connect with people that can turn this dream I’ve had into a reality. That is what matters to me. The hobbies I’ve acquired and what I was passionate about, were fun and a learning experience, but were just that. They’re not things that will get me to my goal and will only distract me from reaching it. I’ve put a lot of effort into a lot of different things over my 24 years of life and have been pretty good at most of them.Problem is though, being a “pretty good” writer isn’t gonna cut it for me. In order to be the best writer I can be, I need to give my entire self to it, and honestly, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

So here I go, doing things my way, giving this 110% of my self. That way, if things don’t go the way we want them to, I won’t have any regrets. I’ll gladly take advice, but I’m not worrying about what people are thinking and that I’m not following what they believe to be the right way to do things. In this business, things are done a million different ways and yield the exact same finished product. I don’t need any validation from anyone other than myself and the people that matter will be proud of me when my name is in lights.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

